Device Comparison

myenergi libbi vs Tesla Powerwall 3 vs FranklinWH aPower 2

Compare 3 battery storage options by installation fit, monitoring, local data access, source-checked specs, and buying context.

Free Compare

Build your own comparison

Start over
Which To Choose

Start with the practical fit, then read the table.

myenergi libbi

Best fit when about 4.6 kWh usable storage, backup needs like optional blackout backup to a dedicated socket or lighting circuit; backup output depends on inverter model and installation design., and future expansion.

Tesla Powerwall 3

Best fit when about 13.5 kWh usable storage, backup needs like seamless whole-home or partial-home backup is a core supported use case; Tesla's current support documentation says non-backup configuration is not supported for Powerwall 3., and future expansion.

FranklinWH aPower 2

Best fit when about 15 kWh usable storage, backup needs like whole-home backup / Emergency Backup when installed as a compatible FranklinWH system with aGate., and future expansion.

Use this comparison when you are choosing between battery storage options and need to separate practical setup fit from headline specifications.

At A Glance

Key fit signals before the full table

A quick pass over the most decision-shaping details for each device in this featured comparison.

myenergi libbi

Usable capacity
4.6 kWh
Nominal capacity
5.12 kWh
Chemistry
LFP (LiFePO4)
Charge/discharge
5 kW

Tesla Powerwall 3

Usable capacity
13.5 kWh
Nominal capacity
13.5 kWh
Chemistry
Lithium-ion; subtype not specified in reviewed public Tesla Powerwall 3 sources.
Charge/discharge
11.5 kW

FranklinWH aPower 2

Usable capacity
15 kWh
Nominal capacity
15 kWh
Chemistry
Lithium iron phosphate (LFP)
Charge/discharge
10 kW
Before You Decide

Checks that matter before price.

  • Separate bill-shifting size from backup size before comparing models.
  • Check usable capacity, discharge power, and expansion path together.
  • Confirm whether the battery fits your existing inverter or needs a new system stack.
  • Compare warranty terms and installer support, not only kWh per dollar.
Install fit
Phase support Single-phase 230 V systems in the reviewed core English source set North American split-phase residential systems; regional variants differ Residential whole-home backup system context via FranklinWH system components
Installation Installer-installed modular home battery; current range includes single-phase and separate three-phase systems. Certified installer wall- or floor-mounted indoor/outdoor residential battery installation. Indoor / outdoor wall- or floor-mounted AC-coupled battery; Type 3R enclosure with IP67 battery pack and inverter rating.
Measurement Modular LFP home battery storage and hybrid-inverter energy system for solar self-consumption, grid charging, and optional dedicated-circuit backup. Residential battery-storage and integrated solar inverter system for backup, self-consumption, and time-of-use energy management. AC-coupled residential battery storage for solar, grid, generator, EV, self-consumption, time-of-use, and backup operation.
Max current Unknown 48 A Unknown
Inverter fit
Backup support Optional blackout backup to a dedicated socket or lighting circuit; backup output depends on inverter model and installation design. Seamless whole-home or partial-home backup is a core supported use case; Tesla's current support documentation says non-backup configuration is not supported for Powerwall 3. Whole-home backup / Emergency Backup when installed as a compatible FranklinWH system with aGate.
Battery fit
Nominal capacity 5.12 kWh 13.5 kWh 15 kWh
Usable capacity 4.6 kWh 13.5 kWh 15 kWh
Chemistry LFP (LiFePO4) Lithium-ion; subtype not specified in reviewed public Tesla Powerwall 3 sources. Lithium iron phosphate (LFP)
Charge/discharge power 5 kW 11.5 kW 10 kW
Warranty 10 years 10 years 15 years
Expansion Single-phase: 1-4 modules / 20.4 kWh nominal. Three-phase: modules added in pairs, up to 8 modules / 40 kWh marketed capacity. Up to 4 Powerwall 3 units plus 3 Expansion units (7 total); each Expansion adds 13.5 kWh. 15 kWh per unit; up to 15 units / 225 kWh per aGate
Monitoring
Protocol Ethernet / Wi-Fi / RS485 / Proprietary 868/915 MHz / myenergi app Tesla App / Wi-Fi / Ethernet / Cellular FranklinWH App / aGate
Local API No No No
Cloud dependency myenergi app/cloud is used for remote monitoring and control; core operation depends on the installed libbi controller/inverter system. Internet is required for app/remote features, firmware updates and the full 10-year warranty; prolonged disconnection may limit warranty coverage to 4 years. FranklinWH App is the documented user interface; aPower 2 operates within the FranklinWH aGate system rather than as a standalone local-API battery.
Home Assistant No No No
Solar fit
Solar import/export Yes Yes Yes
Buying context
Price range Unknown Installer supplied; usually quoted as a complete installed system Unknown
Availability UK, Ireland, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Germany, Poland, France and Australia through regional myenergi sales or installer routes; configuration varies by country. Tesla Powerwall markets including the United States and other country-specific Tesla Energy sales/installer regions; availability varies by location. United States and Canada for SKU APR-10K15V2-US; other FranklinWH regional products and variants must be checked separately.
Source check
Last verified Sep 30, 2026 Oct 1, 2026 Sep 24, 2026
Product page Official page Official page Official page
Documentation Official docs Official docs Official docs
Verdict

Start with myenergi libbi when about 4.6 kWh usable storage, backup needs like optional blackout backup to a dedicated socket or lighting circuit; backup output depends on inverter model and installation design., and future expansion. Put Tesla Powerwall 3 higher on the list when about 13.5 kWh usable storage, backup needs like seamless whole-home or partial-home backup is a core supported use case; Tesla's current support documentation says non-backup configuration is not supported for Powerwall 3., and future expansion. For the final choice, check the full table for installation constraints, local data access, and source-verified unknowns.

FAQ

Common decision questions.

Which battery storage should I choose?

Choose the option that matches your installation constraints and data path first. For 3 battery storage options, the full table is most useful after you know whether local data access, cloud convenience, backup behavior, solar visibility, or expansion matters most.

What should I check before comparing prices?

Check installation fit, required accessories, official documentation, monitoring platform support, and any unknown fields in the source-checked table. Price is only useful once those constraints are clear.

Are unknown fields a reason to avoid a device?

Not always. Unknown means the field was not confirmed from the reviewed source data. Treat it as a question for the installer, reseller, or manufacturer before making a purchase decision.

Back to device comparisons